Select language, opens an overlay
The Manzanar Scrapbook

The Manzanar Scrapbook

eBook - 2017
Rate this:
A supposedly uncrackable safe gets burglarized. Valuable jewelry is stolen, along with a scrapbook that contains an old man's memories of being held as a boy in a Japanese-American internment camp during World War II. The four teenage members of the band The People Movers (Xavier Maplethorpe on vocals, Carlos Villarreal on lead guitar, Kenji Omura on bass, and Yusuf Karout on drums) investigate the case. Along the way to finding the identity of the perpetrator, they learn about honor, courage, and the long reach of history. What they discover about the motive behind the burglary brings them face to face with an eighty-year-old murder and the betrayal of a lifelong friendship.--Provided by publisher.
Excerpt: "What's that, Mom?" he asked, pointing inside the safe. There was a small book sitting in there. It had an orange plastic cover. "Oh, that's your grandfather's," said Mrs. Omura. "It's an old scrapbook of some kind. He asked us to keep it in here for him. It's very private, he asked us not to look at it. But it must be pretty important to him." --Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Ardmore, PA : Story Shares, 2017.
ISBN: 9781642610741
Characteristics: 1 online resource (64 pages)
data file


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at CCCLib

To Top