Waiting for Tom Hanks

Waiting for Tom Hanks

Book - 2019 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
15
"Romantic-comedy-obsessed Annie Cassidy dreams of being the next Nora Ephron. She spends her days writing internet content, rewatching Sleepless in Seattle, and waiting for her movie-perfect meet cute. If she could just find her own Tom Hanks--a man who's sweet, sensitive, and possibly owns a houseboat--her problems would disappear and her life would be perfect. But Tom Hanks is nowhere in sight. When a movie starts filming in her neighborhood and Annie gets a job on set, it seems like a sign. Then Annie meets the lead actor, Drew Danforth, a cocky prankster who couldn't be less like Tom Hanks if he tried. Their meet-cute is more of a meet annoying, but soon Annie finds herself sharing some classic rom-com moments with Drew. Her Tom Hanks can't be an actor who's leaving town in a matter of days...can he? Drew may not be what she imagined, but Annie soon learns that real life doesn't always go according to script"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Jove, [2019]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781984804020
Branch Call Number: FIC WINFREY, K.
Characteristics: viii, 274 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
Hillsboro_JenniFerg Feb 10, 2020

I wanted to read something light and fun, and that is totally what I got from this book! I loved all the pop culture references and how it played just like a Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan movie in my head. Perfect for those who actually enjoy romantic comedies and are just looking for a fast and easy read.

VaughanPLDonnalee Jan 18, 2020

This was a cute, fun and very fluffy romantic comedy. I enjoyed it overall. Readers who like Sophie Kinsella's blend of humour and romance may like this. I liked all the references to old rom-com movies and I liked how it was blended into the book, but it did very repetitive after a while, so a few less references would have been better. It felt like Annie and her friend Chloe had the same conversation at least 30 times. I liked the characters, but the rom-com obsessed heroine was definitely walking a fine line between being "adorkable" and being just annoying and she crossed the line a few times. Overall it was was light and fun and pleasant and it was a fast and breezy read.

l
LeoLibros
Jan 05, 2020

I really wanted to like this. I am after all a fan of Tom Hanks and You've Got Mail IS one of my favorite movies. But I found myself skipping paragraphs when the character talked to herself about how she should feel, but felt something else. I also thought the Meta element, writing a book that is aware of the heroine (also a writer) and her love of Rom-Com plot devices, it was not as effective.
I would not read it again. I will not read the sequel and even though it's "light" I just didn't feel satisfied with how it played out.

JessicaGma Jan 03, 2020

It's fun and light, but not as sizzling as some of the other romcoms I read earlier in 2018 - I'm actually looking more towards the next couple in the sequel to this one. Here's hoping that we get stronger characters in the next book.

s
Suellen1111
Nov 18, 2019

Very thin on plot / story line. Repetitive -- the same thoughts go through her head over & over again. No guy says the things Drew says -- this author needs to re-think her guy-voice. The sex scenes were stilted. Overall, this book is boring & I gave up early.

VaughanPLShelly Nov 07, 2019

A sweet romance perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella!

w
WarriorofMartok
Aug 07, 2019

Sweet, fun story. Probably would be a fantastic read for those that like quick romance reads with closed doors, especially if the reader really enjoys 90's romcoms. A little improbable, but still lots of fun.
One thing that did bother me was the treatment of the geeky uncle and his D&D crew. They were played off as jokes and stereotypes, that as a D&D player myself, I found annoying. Had the uncle and his friends been made less cardboard, I would have given this book a much higher rating.

RomanceAddict Jul 24, 2019

Review excerpt: "A cute but not too cute romantic comedy about a woman who longs to be in her own rom-com but can’t recognize it when it happens. It’s also a lovely meditation on loss and healing. This book might be too PG for some readers and too cute for others, but I enjoyed it because of its well developed romance, great friendships, respect for the rom-com genre, and treatment of grief."

https://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/reviews/waiting-for-tom-hanks-by-kerry-winfrey/

l
lissa125
Jul 22, 2019

A delightful fun book! If you love all the Meg Ryan/ Tom Hanks movies you will adore this book!

t
tjdickey
Jul 13, 2019

A self-reflective romantic comedy about a young woman immersed in romantic comedies, but real life means we might need to take risks and be hurt. The heroine who is waiting for a mythical Tom Hanks to sweep her off her feet might even have to *become* Tom Hanks herself... A very pleasant read!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CCCLib

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top